# Minutes of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District Annual Meeting held on Friday, 16 July 2021 at 10:00 a.m. in the Council Chamber, Áras Chill Dara, Naas, Co Kildare

Members Present: Councillor Í Cussen (Cathaoirleach), Councillors V Liston, J Neville, B Caldwell, C Galvin, N Killeen and M Coleman.

Officials Present: Ms C Barrett (District Manager), Mr C Buggie (District Engineer),

Ms T Shanahan (Meetings Administrator), Ms C Dempsey

(Meetings Secretary).

## CL01/0721

# **Election of Cathaoirleach**

Councillor Cussen welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked her fellow councillors for their help and co-operation over the past 12 months, especially with the extra challenges brought about by COVID-19. She stated that it was a pleasure to chair the meetings and it had been an honour to be the first female Cathaoirleach in the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

She commended the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District for working together for the good of the municipal district. She said the members worked collectively very well with the executive. She thanked the District Manager, District Engineer, Members Services Section, Roads, Transportation and Public Safety Department, Economic, Community and Cultural Development Department and the Public Realm Team in particular, and all the staff of Kildare County Council for their assistance and cooperation. She thanked the parents associations in the schools, and the tidy town groups which were very often not acknowledged for their help and support.

The district manager applauded her on being the first female Cathaoirleach and chairing the first on-line meetings and mastering it so well.

Councillor Cussen invited nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

Councillor Caldwell proposed Councillor Neville and this was seconded by Councillor Liston. As there were no other nominations, Councillor Neville was deemed elected as Cathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

**Resolved** on the proposal of Councillor Caldwell, seconded by Councillor Liston and agreed by all members present that Councillor Joe Neville was elected Cathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

Councillor Neville took the chair.

The members congratulated Councillor Neville in his new role as Cathaoirleach and thanked Councillor Cussen for her hard work stating that they really enjoyed working with her and she had always supported everyone in a generous and kind manner. They thanked her for working so hard for the people of Celbridge and Leixlip and congratulated her on her outstanding year.

Councillor Neville thanked the members for their nominations and stated that he was looking forward to a full year ahead with them continuing to work well as a collective group.

## CL02/0721

#### **Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach**

Councillor Neville invited nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

Councillor Cussen proposed Councillor Liston for the position and this was seconded by Councillor Neville. As there were no other nominations, Councillor Liston was deemed elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Cussen, seconded by Councillor Neville and agreed by all the members that Councillor Liston was elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District.

The members congratulated Councillor Liston in her new role as Leas-Chathaoirleach.

Councillor Liston thanked the members for their nominations and stated that she was very much looking forward to working alongside the members and thanked them for their trust in her.

The meeting concluded.